What does a vegetarian eat?

December 15th, 2014

One of the questions I am often asked is, “What does a vegetarian eat?” Today I thought I would post some information from the Vegetarian Society about what a vegetarian is and what they eat…

“The Vegetarian Society defines a vegetarian as someone who lives on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with, or without, the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or by-products of slaughter.

There are different types of vegetarian:

  1. Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both dairy products and eggs; this is the most common type of vegetarian diet.
  2. Lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but avoid eggs.
  3. Vegans do not eat dairy products, eggs, or any other products which are derived from animals.

Many lacto-ovo vegetarians will only eat free-range eggs. This is because of welfare objections to the intensive farming of hens.”

I have been vegetarian for about 20 years. This came about when researching different diets for health and improving the Rheumatoid Arthritis I had at the time.

God Bless,
Dave

 
%d bloggers like this: